UPCOMING WEBINARS

Invisible Men: How to Work with Prisoner Rape Survivors

Date: Wednesday, August 19, 2015
Time: 11:00am–12:30pm Pacific 
(Please note the time in your time zone: 12pm–1:30pm Mountain, 1pm–2:30pm Central, 2pm–3:30pm Eastern)

“What they took from me went beyond sex. They’d stolen my manhood, my identity, and part of my soul.”
— TJ Parsell, from his testimony in front of the National Prison Rape Elimination Commission
 
Sexual abuse is a devastating crime, no matter where it happens. Yet prisoner rape survivors — the vast majority of whom are men — are acutely underserved.
 
A new JDI webinar, Invisible Men: How to Work With Prisoner Rape Survivors, will give guidance to service providers who are interested in working with incarcerated male survivors. Participants will gain an understanding of the dynamics of this type of violence, its prevalence in men’s and boy’s institutions, the factors that allow it to thrive, and common reactions among survivors.
 
During the webinar, we’ll hear from a survivor of sexual abuse in a youth detention facility who will talk about what it would have meant to have had an advocate after his assault.  We’ll also hear from an advocate who has worked directly with survivors in both men’s prisons and youth detention facilities. The webinar will be interactive, with polls and audience questions to help participants engage directly with the material.
 
The 90-minute webinar is geared toward rape crisis advocates and other community-based service providers, but anyone who works with current or former detainees is encouraged to attend. This series of webinars is being supported by the Department of Justice’s Office on Violence Against Women.
 
Presenters:
 
Boa Smith
Program Associate, Just Detention International

Eric Stiles
Outreach Coordinator, National Sexual Violence Resource Center 

Jeff Inglett
Speaker and prisoner rape survivor

Jessica Seipel
Prevention Education Coordinator & Trauma Counselor
Rape Trauma Services: A Center for Healing & Violence Prevention